• home

Northern Ireland: climate

Select a region from the map South-west England Wales Southern England Midlands Eastern England Northern Scotland NW England and Isle of Man North-east England Eastern Scotland Western Scotland Northern Scotland

Go to region

Northern Ireland consists of the six counties of Antrim, Armagh, Londonderry, Down, Fermanagh and Tyrone. These encompass a variety of topographical features. The inland basin centred on Lough Neagh (the largest lake in the UK, with an area of 385 sq km) is surrounded by upland including the Sperrin Mountains in the north-west, the Antrim Plateau to the north-east and the Mourne Mountains in the south. There are extensive areas over 200 metres, with the highest point being Slieve Donard (852 metres) in the Mourne Mountains.

The climate of Northern Ireland is characterised by equability, a consequence of the moderating effects of the Atlantic Ocean - bringing relatively mild winters and cool summers. However, the indented shape of the coastline and the presence of high ground introduce localised differences in temperature, cloud and precipitation.

Printable view

View the regional mapped climate averages

Climate: Northern Ireland

Please wait…

Printable view

Get updates