British Grand Prix - Silverstone

Racing for the chequered flag in Formula 1

The British Grand Prix at Silverstone takes place this year over the last weekend in June, as part of the Formula 1 season.

Silverstone is the eighth race in the Formula 1 season, with the teams having already raced throughout Australia, Malaysia, China, Bahrain, Spain, Monaco and Canada.

Silverstone has been regarded as the 'Home of British Motor Racing' since hosting its first Grand Prix in 1948.

All four British drivers will be hoping to give the home fans something to cheer about at Silverstone by claiming a podium position. In 2012 Lewis Hamilton was the top finishing Brit at Silverstone, taking eighth position while Jenson Button finished tenth for McLaren. Paul di Resta did not finish the race for Force India. The last time a British driver won the British Grand Prix at Silverstone was Lewis Hamilton in 2008 for McLaren. Prior to this David Coulthard won the grand prix in both 1999 and 2000.

This year will see four British drivers looking to impress the home crowd:

  • Lewis Hamilton - Mercedes
  • Jenson Button - McLaren
  • Paul Di Resta - Force India
  • Max Chilton - Marussia

Check the Silverstone racecourse weather forecast for the British Grand Prix.

Back to the events calendar.


28-30 June - Check the weather forecast before heading to Silverstone for the British Grand Prix.

For further information about getting to the Grand Prix visit the  Silverstone official website.

You can check the weather forecast for other events through the Events Calendar.

If you're looking for content for your own website, take a look at our weather widget.