This website uses cookies. Read about how we use cookies.

Australasia holiday weather

Cathedral Cove, New Zealand

Browse our Australasia holiday weather map to discover climate and tourist information for popular holiday destinations across Australasia.

Australasia map New Sealand Australia

Use the map above or the links at the bottom of the page to discover holiday weather across Australasia's top destinations, including annual average weather forecasts and tourist information.

Australasia climate

The northern areas of Australasia lying between the Equator and the Tropic of Capricorn experience a predominantly tropical climate. This is largely a equatorial climate across northern Australia and the islands to the north of it including Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands. These areas typically experience hot and wet weather throughout the year.

Australia holiday weather sees a wide variation of climates: its east coast is typically warm temperate meaning rain throughout the year, but mostly focused in the summer months of December, January and February (see Sydney holiday weather rainfall totals below). Winters are typically mild with very occasional cold spells.

Sydney, Australia: average daily maximum temperature (°C)
Sydney, Australia: average monthly rainfall (mm)

South-east Australia sees a split of temperate climates with a warm temperate climate in the northern half surrounding Adelaide, and a cold temperate climate in the south around Melbourne holiday weather.

This means areas surrounding Adelaide tend to see mild and wet winters with warm and occasionally very hot summers with very little rainfall.

Adelaide, Australia average daily maximum temperature (°C)
Adelaide, Australia: average monthly rainfall (mm)

In contrast the cold temperate climate around Melbourne sees rain spread more evenly throughout the year and a smaller range of temperatures between winter and summer.

Melbourne, Australia: average daily maximum temperature (°C)
Melbourne, Australia: average monthly rainfall (mm)

Much of the interior and west of Australia is dominated by dry climates with hot desert climates and tropical steppe giving rise to the famous Australian Outback and Bush.

The very central areas see a hot desert with very little rain at any time in the year and very high temperatures throughout the year.  Surrounding this central desert, the tropical steppe climate sees a short season of unreliable rainfall and slightly and hot but slightly lower temperatures.

Broadly speaking the climate of New Zealand holiday weather is split across its largest north and south islands. The North Island sees warm temperate climate with mild winters which occasionally turn very cold and summers which see subtropical weather.

As you travel further south in New Zealand, temperatures decrease and much of the South Island sees a cold temperate climate rain throughout the year and temperatures in the low-tens during winter and the low-twenties during summer.

Wellington, New Zealand: average daily maximum temperature (°C)
Wellington, New Zealand: average monthly rainfall (mm)

Australasia tourist information

The boundaries of Australasia form an important geological and evolutionary line at the lower end of South East Asia; this dividing line is often called the Wallace Line.

Alfred Russell Wallace was a renowned British naturalist who recognised how distinctly nature's creatures differ both before and after this line. Rising sea levels created archipelagos of islands north of Australia which in turn isolated certain species.

Asia is often associated with tigers, lions, rhinos and a list of other mighty beasts, whereas Australasia and the wider region of Oceania are home to more marsupials. Animals like the kangaroo and the possum have become iconic animals inhabiting this part of the world.

The biggest land mass in Australasia is mainland Australia, but territories like New Zealand are also of huge political and economic importance. The two countries offer cities like Sydney holiday weather, Auckland weather, Wellington weather, Melbourne holiday weather, Brisbane holiday weather, Adelaide, Canberra and Perth, which are all economic and metropolitan hubs, as well as attracting large number of tourists from all over the world.

Tourists flock to sights like Ayers Rock (Uluru), which exists in the Northern Territory of Australia. This part of Australia includes Darwin and Alice Springs. New South Wales is famed for Sydney and its much admired Opera House, as well as the harbour. Victoria and its capital Melbourne have the famous MCG Cricket Ground, which is popular for those on cricketing tours.

Australasia's second most prevalent territory in terms of political influence and economics is New Zealand, which is divided into North and South Island. New Zealand is home to some of the world's most stunning natural scenery, attracting the film makers on productions such as the epic Lord of the Rings - much of the film is based around Wellington at sites like Glenorchy.

Australasia is a highly distinct continent with its own unique flora and fauna, helping to define just where the boundaries lie.

Last updated: May 19, 2016 3:42 PM