Close window
Close window
This section of the new site isn't ready yet. We've brought you back to the current site.

Six Nations Rugby 2019


  • Location Based Event
  • National Event
  • International Event
  • Click for event infoClick for event info

To see future events please use the time bar below, either by dragging it, or using the arrows. In addition, you can use the time steps to select days, weeks and months ahead.

Previous month
Previous 7 days
Previous day
Next month
Next 7 days
Next day

Sat 1 Feb - Sat 16 Mar 2019

England failed to make history to become the first team to win three Six Nations crowns on the spin. Instead, Ireland have won back the crown they last held in 2009 with a Grand Slam in 2018. 

How will Ireland do is 2019?  Check the forecast for the Six Nations fixtures.

Stadium forecasts

Murrayfield Stadium

BT Murrayfield Stadium forecast

Rugbly players in a scrum

Twickenham Stadium forecast

 Rugby players

Stadio Olimpico forecast

Principality Stadium

Principality Stadium forecast

Rugby team

Stade de France forecast

Aviva Stadium

Aviva Stadium forecast

Location forecasts

Edinburgh forecast

Twickenham forecast

Rome forecast

Cardiff forecast

Paris forecast

Dublin forecast

A brief history of the Six Nations

In 1871, England and Scotland played the first rugby union international. After 12 years of occasional friendly matches between the teams, the inaugural Home International Championship, comprising England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales was played in 1883.

In 1910 the French, who had played in four of the tournaments up to that point, officially joined the competition and coined the phrase 'Five Nations'. In 2000 Italy joined the competition, and the tournament became known as the 'Six Nations Championship'.

In 2012 Wales took the Six Nations title and the Grand Slam by winning all five matches and topping the table, and in 2013 they retained the 6 Nations title. Ireland then stopped Wales winning a third time by taking the 2014 Six Nations title and in 2015 Ireland once again retained the trophy. In 2016 England won the 6 Nations for the first time since 2011 with a Grand Slam, following that up with another win in 2017.

For more information about the Six Nations, check the official Six Nations site.

Follow us on

Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram, Snapchat, or LinkedIn Facebook Follow @metoffice on Twitter YouTube Instagram Snapchat LinkedIn