This website uses cookies. Read about how we use cookies.

Close window

When is rainy season?

What is a rainy season?

A country's rainy season (also known as a wet season) is the time of the year where the majority of a country or region's annual precipitation occurs. The term 'rainy season' can mean different things depending what part of the world you're in. For example the rainy season in India is controlled by the Monsoon, making for persistent heavy rains. Whereas the rainy season in Cuba is related to the occurrence of heavy evening thunderstorms and infrequent but intense tropical cyclones (hurricanes).

Countries and regions with a monsoon rainy season

Monsoon rainy season

A monsoon is a reversal of the mean wind direction and with it come changes to the climate of a region. The onset and strength of monsoons is hard to predict, but once they start the altered winds can remain in place for months. Monsoons can often bring significant rainfall increases, however this is dependent on the geography of the particular place. The rain associated with monsoons can differ depending on where you are, but precipitation can sometimes last for days without stopping.

Indonesia flagIndonesiaOctober - April
Thailand flagThailandMay - October
Maldives flagMaldivesMay - December
Sri Lanka flagSri LankaApril - May, October - December
Vietnam flagVietnamMay - December
Cambodia flagCambodiaMay - October
Australia flagNorthern AustraliaDecember - March
Brazil flagNorthern BrazilDecember - March
India flagIndiaJuly - November
China flagSouth and Southeast ChinaMay - September
Taiwan flagTaiwanMay - October

Countries and regions with a savannah rainy season

Savannah rainy season

Large expanses of rolling grasslands known as savannas generate their own climate, bringing hot weather all year round. There are distinct dry seasons where no rain will fall at all for months, and short wet seasons bringing heavy rains most afternoons, with hot, humid conditions throughout the rest of the day.

Ghana flagGhanaApril - October
Eritrea flagEritreaJuly - August
Ethiopia flagEthiopiaJune - September
Botswana flagBotswanaDecember - March
USA flagFlorida (USA)
May - October
Nigeria flagNigeriaApril - October

Countries and regions with a tropical rainy season

Tropical rainy season

Usually countries located close to the equator with tropical climates have only two seasons; the dry season and the wet season. During the wet season, just like in savannahs, there is typically heat build up over the course of the day allowing thunderstorms to grow and eventually rain out in the afternoon and continuing overnight. The magnitude of rainfall can vary from day to day but it can be expected at roughly the same time. It's best not to be caught in such conditions as lightning can be violent and rainfall significant.

Jamaica flag


May, September - November

Cuba flagCubaMay, September - November
Barbados flagBarbadosJune - October
Phillipines flagPhilippinesAll year round
Tonga flagTongaNovember - May
Fiji flagFijiNovember - April
Costa Rica flagCosta RicaMay - December
Peru flagPeruDecember - March
Hong Kong flagHong Kong

April - August

Mexico flagMexicoJune - September
Singapore flagSingapore

October - February

USA flagUSA (Hawaii)November - March

See 7 day forecasts for locations across the world

Last updated:

Follow us on

Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram, Snapchat, or LinkedIn Facebook Follow @metoffice on Twitter YouTube Instagram Snapchat LinkedIn