The Ashes

The Ashes

Will the weather affect play for the 2015 Ashes series? Check the weather forecast.

The Ashes is a test cricket series played biennially between England and Australia. It is one of the most celebrated rivalries in international sport.

The Australian cricket team won the 2013-14 Ashes series regaining urn in Perth, whilst England are looking to win their fourth successive home series.

Alternating between cricket grounds in Australia and England, this year the teams will meet in England. Click on the link for each cricket ground to take you through to the weather forecast for each individual location.

DateTest   Venue
8-12 July 1Cardiff
16-20July    2Lord's
29 Jul-2 August    3Edgbasaton
6-10 August    4Trent Bridge
20-24 August    5The Oval

A brief history of the The Ashes

Named after a satirical obituary that commemorated the 'death of cricket' following Australia's first victory over England on English soil, The Ashes has been played regularly since 1882. The England and Australia Cricket teams will face each other at Cardiff for the First Test of the sixty-seventh Ashes series.

Of the sixty-eight series played Australia have won 32, England 31, while the other five have been drawn. The highest innings score ever reached in an Ashes test match was 903 for 7 in 1983, when English batsman Sir Leonard 'Len' Hutton batted for more than 13 hours, helping England win the match by 579 runs. During this test Sir Len Hutton scored 364 runs, the most any batsman in the Ashes series has ever achieved.

The weather has a huge impact on cricket, to learn more look out for our weather infographics. You can also visit our YouTube Channel to watch the latest forecast for the Ashes test matches.

For more information on The Ashes and England's 2015 cricket team, check the official England and Wales Cricket Board Website

You can check the weather forecast for Cardiff via the events calendar.