Close window
Close window
This section of the new site isn't ready yet. We've brought you back to the current site.

Awards for Met Office staff at the Royal Meteorological Society ceremony

Six Met Office staff were honoured at this year's Royal Meteorological Society awards.

The event, held in London on 20 May, saw the society hand out a number of awards to recognise contributions to the field of weather and climate.

Professor Adam Scaife, head of monthly to decadal forecasting at the Met Office, received the Adrian Gill Award. The society said Adam's "work combines deep scientific insight and a strong background in dynamical climatology with a practical outlook; a highly effective combination. His research is notable for its originality and simplification of apparently complex problems."

Interestingly, Adrian Gill after whom the award is named, was also employed by the Met Office, and he worked on ocean-atmosphere coupling - which is now central to the climate predictions that are made by Adam Scaife's group.

Baden Hall, a Met Office senior meteorologist, received the Gordon Manley Weather Prize for outstanding contribution to the society's journal, Weather. Baden has worked on the board for the journal and shared the role of Editor for the publication early in 2014.

Dr Cyril Morcrette, who works in the area of research which focuses on representing clouds in weather and climate models, received the LF Richardson Prize for his paper, "Evaluation of two cloud parameterization schemes using ARM and Cloud-Net observations" which led to improvements in Met Office forecasting systems.

Professor Andrew Lorenc, a Met Office senior research fellow, received the Quarterly Journal Editor's Award for services to the journal. The editor noted that "Andrew is a well-known leader in the field of data assimilation and the quality of his advice is perhaps not surprising, but the care and attention he consistently contributes is outstanding."

Dr Philip Gill received the Meteorological Applications Editor's Award - which again is for service to the journal.

Professor Doug Parker, Met Office Professor of Meteorology at the University of Leeds, picked up the Vaisala Award on behalf of the AMMA Radiosonde Team. This recognises contributions to the field of observation and instrumentation.

Follow us on

Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram, Snapchat, or LinkedIn Facebook Follow @metoffice on Twitter YouTube Instagram Snapchat LinkedIn