Close window
Close window
This section of the new site isn't ready yet. We've brought you back to the current site.

Met Office Chief Scientist elected as a Royal Society Fellow

The Met Office Chief Scientist has been elected as a Fellow of one of the oldest scientific academies in the world.

The Chief Scientist at the Met Office, Professor Dame Prof. Dame Julia Slingo OBE FRS DBE FRS, has been elected as a Fellow of The Royal Society, the world's oldest scientific academy in continuous existence.

Professor Dame Julia Slingo was awarded this prestigious honour for her world-leading research in the area of tropical climate processes and climate modelling. She is one of 47 new fellows and 10 foreign members announced by the Society.

The Society said: "Professor Dame Julia Slingo, has led Met Office science and University climate modelling with great success and had major international influence, particularly in the move to much higher resolution climate models."

Met Office Chief Executive Rob Varley said: "We are incredibly proud that Julia has been recognised and honoured in this way. Since joining the Met Office in 2009, she has driven a ground-breaking programme of research, which underpins the Met Office's world class weather and climate services, helping protect lives and property around the world.

"This not only represents true acknowledgement for Julia's incredible and game-changing work but also the excellence of Met Office research and those we partner with around the world."

The Royal Society Fellowship is made up of the most eminent scientists, engineers and technologists from the UK and the Commonwealth. Fellows are elected through a peer review process that culminates in a vote by existing Fellows. Each year up to 52 Fellows and up to 10 Foreign Members are elected from a group of around 700 candidates who are proposed by the existing Fellowship.

Professor Dame Julia Slingo DBE FRS Biography highlights


  • Named a Dame in the New Year Honours' for services to weather and climate science.
  • Named one of the 100 leading UK practicing scientists by the Science Council.
  • Awarded honorary degree by the University of Exeter
  • Awarded honorary degree by the University of Edinburgh


  • Awarded honorary degree by the University of Reading


  • Awarded honorary degree of doctor of science by the University of Bristol


  • Awarded an OBE for services to environmental and climate science.
  • First female Professor of Meteorology in the UK and first female President of the Royal Meteorological Society.


  • Awarded the Buchan Prize of the Royal Meteorological Society

Follow us on

Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram, Snapchat, or LinkedIn Facebook Follow @metoffice on Twitter YouTube Instagram Snapchat LinkedIn