Close window
Close window
This section of the new site isn't ready yet. We've brought you back to the current site.

Cloud spotting guide

Use our cloud spotting guide and video to help identify different types of clouds in the sky.

To assist with identifying different clouds while cloud spotting we've created this useful infographic. Feel free to share and use on your own website or blog but please include a link back to the Met Office.

You can also download a printable version of the cloud spotting guide.

Click on the clouds to find out more about each cloud type:

Cirrus cloudsCirrocumulus cloudsCirrostratus cloudsHigh level cloudsAltocumulus cloudsAltostratus cloudMid-level cloudsLow-level cloudsCumulonimbus cloudStratocumulus cloudCumulus cloudStratus cloudNimbostratus cloudCloud Spotting guide: High level (above 6,000 m) - Cirrus, Cirrocumulus, Cirrostratus; Mid level (2,000 m to 6000 m) - Altocumulus, Altostratus; Low level (0 m to 2,000 m) - Stratocumulus, Cumulus, Cumulonimbus, nimbostratus, Stratus.


We've also put together a cloud spotting video. In this video, James Chubb explains how clouds form and how to tell one cloud from another.


Last updated:

Follow us on

Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram, Snapchat, or LinkedIn Facebook Follow @metoffice on Twitter YouTube Instagram Snapchat LinkedIn